Past Pupils - Coláiste Rís

Go to content

Main menu:

Past Pupils
Over the last 140 years thousands of pupils have attended Dundalk C.B.S./Coláiste Rís and have earned the right to be included on this page; those listed are a small representative sample currently or sometime in the news. We would be thrilled to hear from you about any past-pupil that you think should be included.

  • Seamus Kirk – Former Ceann Comhairle Dáil Éireann.
  • Seosamh Ó hAghmaill (Joe Hamill) – Sec. Gen. of Department of Community, Rural and Gaeltacht Affairs.
  • An t Ollamh Briain Mac Craith – Current Head of DCU.
  • Padraic Faulkner – Former Ceann Comhairle and holder of many government ministries.
  • Dr Danny O Hare – Former head of DCU and current chair of physical sciences task force.
  • Peter Rice – Architect/Engineer Associated with Sydney Opera House etc.
  • Frank Ryan - Chief Executive Enterprise Ireland.
  • Jim Corr of the Corrs.
  • Liam Reilly of Bagatelle.
  • Tomas Mac Anna – Abbey Director.
  • John Moore – Good Day to Die Hard, The Omen, Max Payne and Behind Enemy Lines.
  • Patrick Mc Donnell – Comedian, Naked Camera and Eoin Mc Love in Fr Ted.
  • Conor O Callaghan – Poet and Author.
  • Ríona Ní Dhuinnín – Winner of Late Late Show Young Musician of the Year.
  • Charlie Donnelly – Poet killed in Spanish Civil War.
  • Aaron Hoey, Shane Lennon – Current members of the Louth Senior Panel.
  • Tiarnan Mulvenna – Current member of the NIFL Premiership champions Cliftonville.
  • Lord Ballyedmond (Senator Edward Haughey) of Norbrook.
  • Hugh Mc Cann – Heart Consultant in the Mater Hospital.
  • Thomas Gernon - Young Scientist of the Year, 2000.
  • Paul Martin – Garden designer and Chelsea flower show prize winner.
  • Donal Hamill – Current Irish Ambassador to Sweden.
  • Martin Macken – Former Gen. Secretary of Fianna Fáil and teacher in the school.
  • Fr Ciaran O Callaghan – Redemptorist Provincial Delegate for the Proclamation of the word.
  • Cormac Callanan – Credited with introducing the Internet to Ireland.
  • Dearbhla Lennon – River Dance; Jigs and Reels and presenter on afternoon T.V..
  • Tomás Mac Ruairí – Iriseoir agus Iar Uachtarán Chonradh na Gaeilge.
  • Ian and Donn Mc Clean – Writers, Authors and racing Pundits.
  • Nick Coffey – RTE Political Journalist.

Some Interesting Facts uncovered:
  • John Kelly – from Park Street - first student in 1869.
  • John mc Guinness got a prize first public examinations entered into by our students in 1881.
  • Aoife Hamill – First girl to enrol; She started school in September 1987.
  • Tony Hande – Barber in Chapel St./ Matthews Family at Yorke St. Gate . Our closest past-pupils?

Please e-mail us if you know of more senior past pupils or if you are further from Chapel St than anybody else.
Back to content | Back to main menu